Church Tours

Church tours – Heritage and Headstones  11.00am  £3
As part of our church tours programme, on the third Saturday of every month we  offer our “Heritage and Headstones” walk. Discover the hidden glories of St Mary’s and its graveyard (weather permitting) in this 90 minute tour. Once Gateshead’s ‘mother church’ this is the oldest building on the quayside. But how much do you really know about it? Come and find out with our knowledgeable guides.

ç church tours photo

Please note: these tours can be pre-booked on 0191 433 6965 or www.gateshead.gov.uk/whatson.  We recommend this if you are a party of 8+

Dates for 2017

  • Sat 21 January
  • Sat 18 February
  • Sat 18 March
  • Sat 15 April
  • Sat 20 May
  • Sat 17 June
  • Sat 15 July
  • No tours August
  • Sat 16 September
  • Sat 21 October
  • Sat 18 November
  • Sat 16 December

On these dates, as well as enjoying a church tour, you can also enjoy some tea/coffee and homemade cakes.

Concessionary prices are available to our members but please email us if you would like to take advantage of this special offer. Email smhgg@hotmail.co.uk

If you would like to arrange a bespoke church tour for a group then please see our Group Visits and Tours page